Skip to content

Rinus Michels Award to Ten Hag, Slot, Jans, Oosting or Van Wonderen | NOW

Erik ten Hag (Ajax), Arne Slot (Feyenoord), Ron Jans (FC Twente), Joseph Oosting (RKC Waalwijk) and Kees van Wonderen (Go Ahead Eagles) have been nominated for the Rinus Michels Award, the KNVB announced on Monday. Ten Hag can win the prize for the best trainer of the Eredivisie season for the fourth time.

The Rinus Michels Award will be presented on 26 June. The last two times (in 2019 and 2021) the prize went to Ten Hag. No winner has been declared in the 2020/2021 season, which has been stopped by the corona pandemic. Ten Hag also won the prize in 2016, at the time as a trainer of FC Utrecht.

The other four nominees are still waiting for their first Rinus Michels Award. Slot especially impressed this season by leading Feyenoord to the final of the Conference League and FC Twente regained European football under Jans after eight years.

Van Wonderen and Oosting managed to keep Go Ahead and RKC respectively in the Eredivisie with a modest budget.

The KNVB also announced on Monday which four trainers have been nominated for the title Trainer/Coach of the year in the Kitchen Champion Division. These are Dick Lukkien (FC Emmen), Wim Jonk (FC Volendam), Rob Penders (FC Eindhoven) and Marinus Dijkhuizen (Excelsior).

The Rinus Michels Award has been awarded since 2004 and the first winner was Co Adriaanse on behalf of AZ. The prize for the trainer of the year in the Kitchen Champion Division was created in 2017.

Photo series: Previous winners Rinus Michels Award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.