Skip to content

Daniel Felipe Martínez wins Tour of the Basque Country after seconds game in final stage | cycling

For Martínez it is the second overall victory in a stage race from the WorldTour. In 2020 he won the Critérium du Dauphiné. In the Tour of the Basque Country he succeeds Primoz Roglic. Last year’s winner was still the best in the opening time trial, but had to give up the leader’s jersey to Evenepoel in the fifth stage.

The final stage counted 135.7 kilometers, but was very tough with seven climbs. On the Krabelin, with about 40 kilometers to go, the wearer of the leader’s jersey Evenepoel had to endure the first real attacks. A group including Jonas Vingegaard and also the number 2 in the standings, Martínez, took a small lead. After the descent, the composition of the pursuers of leader Davide Formolo changed again, partly due to a crash at Movistar riders Enric Mas and Nelson Oliveira.

On the last flat part before the final climb, Evenepoel came back to the front runners, but it had cost the Belgian a lot of strength. Evenepoel had to let the competitors go 5 kilometers before the finish. Aleksandr Vlasov also tried to break free from Martínez, but the Colombian took over the pace and also overtook Formolo who had escaped again.

In the last kilometers Izagirre was able to return to the front runners. The Spaniard, who had crashed shortly before after a collision with Vingegaard, turned out to be faster than Vlasov and Marc Soler in the sprint in Arrate. Evenepoel came in after 24 seconds. That backlog also cost the Belgian a podium place. In the standings, Izagirre was second at 11 seconds from Martínez, Vlasov was third at 16 seconds.

Telesport newsletter

Daily the most important sports news, results, analyzes and interviews.

Invalid email address. Please fill in again.

read here our privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.